01
一般提問 — 聯招申請人

問:請問各課程的收生要求是怎樣?
答:各課程的收生要求已於網頁上公布。

問:各課程的 JUPAS 收生分數和文憑試科目比重在那裡可找到?
答:2019年JUPAS 收生分數2020年文憑試科目比重均已於網頁上公布。

問:課程設有入學面試嗎?
答:部份課程設有面試安排,詳細的面試日子待確定後會於此網頁上公布。

02
社會科學(大類收生)

問:這課程跟社會學有什麼分別?誰適合選擇社會科學(大類收生)?

答:經社會科學(大類收生)入學的學生於第一年先入讀社會科學院而無須決定主修課程。學生於第一年親自體驗不同社會科學的科目,再從八個主修課程中申報其中一個 (包括社會學)。申報過程不設限額,亦無需競爭。社會科學(大類收生)特別適合對社會科學有興趣但尚未決定主修的同學。學生有一年時間透過老師的輔導和學長的幫助發掘自己的學習興趣,並評估自己升讀不同主修課程的潛能。

03
建築學

問:要提交設計作品集或作入學評估嗎?畢業後可成為建築師嗎?

答:建築學有提交設計作品集及入學評估的要求。完成學士課程後,學生可繼續修讀專業認可的建築學碩士課程,為他們作為香港或海外職業建築師做好準備。詳情請參閱建築學網頁。

04
經濟學

問:為何經濟學置於社會科學院而不是商學院?

答:跟其他知名大學一樣,香港中文大學把經濟學置於社會科學院,使其應用範圍更廣闊。經濟學不只是應用在商業上的理論,其用途實在十分廣泛。畢業生出路多元化,部份學生於在學期間已受聘於銀行及著名會計師樓擔任全職工作,吸取工作經驗。

05
地理與資源管理學

問:除自然地理外,還能學到什麼?此課程有什麼特色?

答:地理與資源管理學充分融合了自然地理與人文地理的專業內容,並分為4大專業方向:

  • 自然環境與資源管理
  • 地理空間數據科學
  • 城市與區域發展
  • 永續智慧城市

課程提供多元化教學模式,如實驗和境內外實地考察(如: 北美、歐洲、非洲、澳洲及東南亞)等。詳情可參閱課程手冊

06
城市研究

問:畢業生有何升學及就業出路?

答:城市研究是全港首個獲得英國皇家城市規劃學會(RTPI)「空間規劃」專業資格認可的學士課程。學生可選的專修範圍包括:

  • 城市規劃及設計
  • 城市環境
  • 城市政策及管治
  • 永續智慧城市

畢業生可申請成為皇家特許測量師學會(RICS) 會員,選擇不同類別的職業或繼續升學深造

07
政治與行政學

問:課程有什麼特色?畢業生大多從政嗎?

答:政治與行政學由三大部分組成,包括政治學、公共行政及國際關係,著重訓練學生的批判思考能力。課程與英國華威大學和西敏寺大學,以及日本早稻田大學合作,讓同學可到當地交流。學生自發成立的睿星計劃,包含學長及實習等計劃。畢業生出路多元化,詳情可參閱課程入學手冊

08
新聞與傳播學

問:新聞與傳播課程包含那些範疇?

答:新聞與傳播學提供三個專業範疇供學生選擇,包括:

  • 新聞
  • 廣告與公關
  • 創意媒體與新媒體

學生也可選擇 ”新聞與傳播及工商管理雙學位” 或 ”新聞與傳播學及社會學雙主修” 課程。

09
全球傳播

問:學生可到海外交流嗎?

答:全球傳播課程與英國薩塞克斯大學媒體、電影與音樂學院合作,通過在英國一年的交換學習計劃,給學生帶來專業知識和國際學習經驗,以及培養全球角度思考。詳情可參閱全球傳播網頁

10
心理學

問:中大的心理學偏重於理論嗎?畢業即可成為心理學家?

答:香港中文大學心理學課程理論與實踐兼備,超過四分一的畢業生選擇繼續升學,為日後成為心理學家做好準備。心理學學系提供不同的碩士及博士課程讓學生報讀。

11
社會工作

問:畢業後可成為註冊社工嗎?

答:完成社會工作課程後,畢業生即具備資格申請於香港成為「註冊社會工作者」,於社會福利署、醫院管理局、非政府福利機構等從事專業社會工作。詳情可參閱課程網頁

12
社會學

問:社會學是什麼?畢業生可從事那些工作?

答:社會學教導學生以科學方法研究社會,學習以不同角度分析社會現象。課程重點包括家庭、性別與性、移民、健康和人口、犯罪與越軌、分層和教育等。畢業生配備職場所需的技能 – 多角度分析複習問題。學生亦可選擇 “社會科學學士 (社會學) 及法律博士雙學位課程“和 ”新聞與傳播學及社會學雙主修” 課程。

13
全球研究

問:此課程有外語的入學要求嗎?經濟有困難的學生仍可參加海外交流計劃嗎?

答:全球研究課程不設外語入學要求。入學後,外語、海外留學實習均為必須範疇。學生可申請課程與日本早稻田大學合作的雙學位課程,首兩年在中文大學學習,之後兩年在日本修讀。海外留學期間,學生繳交中文大學學費及負責在海外的生活費。有經濟困難的學生可向大學及書院申請獎學金或經濟緩助

14
數據科學與政策研究

問:數據科學與政策研究之間的關係是什麼?

答:數據科學是以科學方式來研究數據,以便從數據中發掘知識和見解。應用數據科學於政策研究將是下一個前沿領域(視頻)。為使學生能掌握21世紀職業必要的知識和技能,學生將學習 R 和 Python 等編程和編碼語言,構想以實證為基礎的政策及評估政策成效。為了培訓學生成為公共和私營部門的數據科學家,政策制定者,顧問和交流者,課程以一連串互動及體驗式的學習活動如實習計劃及海外交流,讓學生應用所學,設計和實施不同社會議題的解決方案。請瀏覽課程網站以了解詳情。

01
General Questions – JUPAS Applicants

Q: What are the programme requirements and selection principles?
A: The programme requirements and selection principles information is now available online.

Q: Where can I find the JUPAS admission scores and HKDSE subject weightings? 
A: 2019 admission grades and 2020 subject weighting information is now available online.

Q: Are there any interviews for JUPAS applicants?
A: Some programmes arrange for interviews before or after the release of HKDSE results. The remaining programmes do not have interviews. Details will be available online soon.

02
Social Science Broad-based

Q: How is it different from Sociology and who are recommended to apply for Social Science (Broad-based)?

A: Social Science (broad-based) allows students entering the Faculty without committing to a particular major. Students can explore their real interest in Social Science disciplines in the first year of study before declaring one of the eight majors (including Sociology). Students who are not sure about their own interests, academic strengths and have not yet decided their career path, may choose the Broad-based programme which students will receive extensive counselling and academic advice from teachers and senior students. There is no competition nor quota restriction for major declaration.

03
Architectural Studies

Q: Do I need to submit a portfolio or attempt any admission test? Can I become a registered Architect in HK upon graduation?

A: JUPAS applicants are encouraged and non-JUPAS applicants are required to submit a design portfolio to the Application Materials Collection Platform by the prescribed deadlines. JUPAS applicants who place JS4812 as their band A choice and all non-JUPAS applicants would be invited to conduct admission tests. Bachelor of Social Science (Architectural Studies) degree can be followed by the professionally accredited Master of Architecture Programme that prepares students for a career as an architect in Hong Kong and beyond. For more details, please visit the website of Architectural Studies.

04
Economics

Q: Why is Economics housed within Social Science?

A: Similar to other prestigious universities, CUHK houses Economics within social science rather than business to provide a broader array of applications. In addition to business, Economics can be applied in numerous contexts. With broad mindsets, our students are welcomed by financial institutions and accounting firms. Some of our students are offered the opportunities to work full-time at companies like HSBC, Citibank, Ernst & Young and KPMG during their undergraduate studies.

05
Geography and Resource Management

Q: Besides physical geography, what can I learn and what are some special features?

A: Geography and Resource Management maintains a good balance between the physical and human dimensions of geography with 4 areas of specialization for students to choose from:

  • Physical environment and resource management
  • Geo-spatial data science (including remote sensing)
  • Urban and regional development
  • Smart sustainable cities

Interactive learning such as laboratory and fieldwork are adopted. Students are required to conduct field trips both locally and outside Hong Kong (e.g. North America, Europe, Africa, Australia and South-East Asia). More information can be found in the programme handbook.

06
Urban Studies

Q: What are some job or further studies opportunities for graduates?

A: Urban Studies has obtained the Spatial Planning accreditation by the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) and students may choose between 4 areas of concentrations:

  • Urban planning and design
  • Urban environment
  • Urban policy and governance
  • Smart sustainability cities

Graduates are eligible to apply for Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) membership and have a wide spectrum of career and further studies choices.

07
Government and Public Administration

Q: What can some programme highlights and do most graduates become politicians?

A: Government and Public Administration is committed to foster critical thinking among students. There are three specialisms including politics, public administration and international relations. It partners with University of Warwick in UK, University of Westminster in UK and Waseda University in Japan in offering overseas study opportunities. The student-led STAR project offers internship, mentorship and exploration opportunities to students. Graduates usually join different sectors such as government, public sector and business. More details can be found in the department brochure.

08
Journalism and Communication

Q: What can I study in Journalism and Communication?

A: Journalism and Communication offers 3 professional tracks:

  • Journalism
  • Advertising and Public Relations
  • Creative and New Media

Students can also opt for the “Double-Degree Option in Journalism and Communication and Integrated BBA” and “Double-Major Option in Journalism and Communication and Sociology”.

09
Global Communication

Q: Do I have the chance to study overseas? 

A: Global Communication is built on collaboration with the School of Media, Film and Music at University of Sussex in the UK. The programme equips students with professional knowledge, unique international learning exposure and global mindset by exchange studies in UK for one year. More details can be found on the website of Global Communication.

10
Psychology

Q: Does CUHK Psychology focus on theory teaching or practical studies? Can graduates become psychologists upon graduation? 

A: Psychology places equally balance between theory and application. More than a quarter of our graduates go on further studies to become professional psychologists. The Department of Psychology offers postgraduate programmes in Psychology, Clinical Psychology and Industrial-Organizational Psychology for students with various interests.

11
Social Work

Q: Can I become a registered social worker upon graduation? 

A: Social Work graduates are qualified to be Registered Social Workers in Hong Kong. They can take up professional posts at the Social Welfare Department, the Hospital Authority or in non-governmental organisations. More details can be found on the programme website.

12
Sociology

Q: What is Sociology all about and what are the prospects for graduates?

A: Sociology is the scientific study of society and it helps students understand social phenomena from different perspectives. Key topics include but not limited to family, gender & sexuality, migration, health & population, crime & deviance, and stratification and education. Graduates are equipped with transferable skills to analyse complex issues that are crucial for nowadays workplace. Students can also choose to pursue BSSc (Sociology) – Juris Doctor double degree, Sociology – Journalism and Communication double major or postgraduate studies.

13
Global Studies

Q: Is there any foreign language admission requirement? Will I have a chance to study overseas even if I have financial needs?

A: Global Studies has no admission requirement for foreign language. After admission, resident study overseas, foreign language and internship are required courses for Global Studies students. Students who choose the CUHK-Waseda University Dual Degree option can earn two bachelor’s degrees by spending the first two years at CUHK and last two years in Japan. During the exchange, students only need to pay the tuition fee of CUHK and those with financial needs may apply for scholarships and financial aid offered by colleges and the University.

14
Data Science and Policy Studies

Q: Why and How is Data Science related to Policy Studies?

A: Data Science is the extraction and study of data in a scientific way to generate knowledge and insights from data. Empowering policy studies with data science will be the next frontier for policymaking (video). To equip students with essential skills and knowledge to develop their careers in the 21st Century, students will learn programming and coding languages such as R and Python, data mining and statistics skills to analyze social problems in order to formulate evidence-based policies and conduct policy evaluation. To train students to be data scientists, policymakers, consultants and communicators in public and private sectors, students are offered internships and overseas exchange opportunities to practice what they learnt in the real world. More information can be found on the programme website.